Time trial vs. Just ride

JUST RIDE and TIME TRIAL are two different cycling modes that help you explore the ROUVY world in your own pace.

JUST RIDE is a non-competitive mode where you can enjoy a virtual ride at your own pace, exploring different routes without specific goals or pressure.

On the other hand, TIME TRIAL is a competitive mode where you are riding against the clock, trying to be as fast as you can. Essentially this is a race. 
Both modes are explained below in more detail. 

Just click on the selected route tile and tou can change the ride mode by clicking on the yellow settings icon.

Screenshot 2024-05-20 at 20.35.50.png

 

Time trial

Users are competing against the clock to secure the fastest time.
It can be in the same ROUTE or EVENT, or as an individual or in a  group competing against the clock.

It works on the principal basis of a real RACE.
You are prevented from pausing or moving your position during the ride. You have to ride the ROUTE till the end of the ACTIVITY.
When you finish successfully, the app saves your personal records in the ACTIVITIES in your DIARY and on the LEADERBOARD.
If you ride the route again you will be asked if you'd like to compare your time with your personal record, if it is saved on the route.

Screenshot 2024-05-20 at 20.47.14.png

Check the image of the TIME TRIAL mode.

Screenshot 2024-05-21 at 16.16.15.png

 

WarmUp and Cooldown

This feature is switched off as the default.
You can find it under Settings by clicking on your icon in the top-left corner.

For the TIME TRIAL mode, it is possible to enable or disable the inclusion of WARMUP before the ride or COOLDOWN after the ride in the performance statistics in the ROUTE SETTINGS.
Thanks to that we stopped flooding an Activity list with irrelevant WarmUp and Cool Down activities and give this option only to user they want to. 

Screenshot 2024-05-20 at 20.49.55.png

 

Just ride

JUST RIDE is there to improve your training on a particular route

You can just try a part of a ROUTE or try a long ROUTE in parts which you could choose to go back to complete. In JUST RIDE, you can move your position and pause too.

Note! If you don't move the pin around  or change the REALITY LEVEL on the  ROUTE, your PERSONAL RECORD (PR) will be saved.

When you finish, the ACTIVITY is available and saved in your TRAINING DIARY, but without a personal record on the LEADERBOARD.
This means that the ACTIVITY is not counted towards the route record list or your CAREER.

JUST RIDE mode is great for riding certain sections repeatedly, for example, your favorite hill or a special endurance training stretch.

Screenshot 2024-05-20 at 20.35.50.png

 

Reality level

The REALITY LEVEL is a feature that adjusts the realism of the virtual riding experience by modifying the intensity of the simulated terrain.
In other words, when set to 100%, the resistance you feel on your smart trainer matches the actual gradients and conditions of the real route.
Lowering the Reality Level reduces the realism and reduces the overall difficulty, for example, making climbs easier and more manageable. Increasing the Reality Level makes the route more difficult, increasing riding workout intensity.
This allows you to customize your cycling intensity according to your fitness levels and training goals.

Reality Level is only availabe in JUST RIDE mode.

The default is 100% which is the real load. If you want a lower or a higher load, you can set it accordingly. 

Be careful when changing the Reality Level - it can exclude your activity from Challenges.
More information on Challenges is here.

Screenshot 2024-05-20 at 20.52.28.png

 

Check the JUST RIDE mode image.

222Screenshot 2024-05-21 at 16.16.15.png

 

Continue from where you stopped

Once the user starts a previously unfinished activity in JUST RIDE mode, the App offers an option to RESUME where you left off the last time. The default option stays continue FROM THE START, which will be autoselected after 10sec if the user doesn’t make any action.

The feature does not work in TIME TRIAL mode.

Screenshot 2024-05-21 at 16.12.49.png

 

Don't stop just after one route

After you finish your chosen route in Just Ride mode, the App will recommend to continue cycling on one of the other routes that fit you. Don't get off the bike, just click "Continue" and keep pedalling on the next route.

Screenshot 2024-05-21 at 16.09.41.png

This feature can be enabled or disabled in SETTINGS.

Screenshot 2024-05-20 at 21.02.36.png

 

For more help, please feel free to contact us.

Was this article helpful?

585 out of 649 found this helpful

Have more questions? Submit a request